Author: Gunadharma

The Trishula, Symbol of the Universal Trinity

The Trishula (trident) of Shiva is the symbol of the 3 qualities of Nature: the 3 Gunas and hence the 3 functions of Creator, Preserver and Destroyer. The three prongs of the trishula also represent: • The 3 personified Divinities of Creation, Sustenance and Dissolution (Brahma, Vishnu and Rudra) – The  3 Divinities depicted as separate entities in mythical stories are one and the same with Shiva. He alone creates, sustains and dissolves the universe. • The 3 great universal acts of Creation, Sustenance and Dissolution – Shiva is the Master and Controller of all three universal acts. •...

Read More

Sriwijaya: An Ancient Center of Vajrayana Buddhism

“Many of kings and rulers in the islands of southern seas adore and believed in lord Buddha, in their hearts has flourished (the seeds of) good deeds. Within the walls of Srivijaya capital city lived 1000 buddhist monks, they have studied diligently and performed (the noble teachings) very well… If a Chinese monk wished to travel to India and seeks the (Buddha’s) teachings, it will be better for them to stay here first for a year or two, to deepening their knowledge before continued their study to India.” — Description of Srivijaya according to I-tsing A complex and cosmopolitan...

Read More

Sthapatya Veda Architecture: Harmony With Natural Law

By Dr. Eike Hartmann The knowledge of architecture and building in accordance with Natural Law has been brought to light by Maharishi Mahesh Yogi. This complete system of building fortune-creating homes, offices and communities is known as Maharishi Sthapatya Veda Design. The Sanskrit word sthapan means to establish, and Veda means knowledge, so Maharishi Sthapatya Veda is the knowledge of how to establish life in full accord with Natural Law. The purpose of Maharishi Sthapatya Veda (or  Vastu Vidya) is to maintain individual life in harmony with Cosmic Life, individual intelligence in tune with cosmic intelligence. This is accomplished...

Read More

Tritiya-Prakriti: LGBT People in the Dharmic View

A “third gender” has been acknowledged within the Dharma since Vedic times.  The Vedas refer to a “third sex”, roughly defined as people for whom sex is not procreative, either through impotence or a lack of desire for the opposite sex. In texts such as the Sushruta Samhita and the Sabda Kalpadruma Sanskrit-Sanskrit dictionary, apart from male and female, are listed more than 20 types of genders, such as transwoman, transmen, androgynous, pangender, trigender, etc. (known in Sanskrit as sandha, kliba, napumsaka, and panda). They are altogether referred to as Tritiya-Prakriti (literally, “third nature”). Included among the lists are transgender...

Read More

Nirguna Brahman & Saguna Brahman

Of the many Dharmic names for God, Brahman is the most often used in metaphysics. Brahman, the one and only, can be apprehended in 2 main ways. Saguna Brahman (God ‘with attributes’) ‘With attributes’ means name and form (nama-rupa), so Saguna Brahman would apply to Krishna, Rama, Jesus or any other deity of choice. Saguna Brahman suggests a visualisation in form and name. For instance, the Earth is a goddess worshiped by many tribes in the world. Equally famous is Sun worship. Worship of gods of planets is also famous. All these gods come under Saguna – gods with...

Read More


Bali Ayurveda Organic Herbal Extracts



“If you are alone and you are bored, obviously you are in bad company”

— Sadhguru



Binaural Beats Meditation


Our Contributors